Michaeldgriffiths's Blog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Top Ten Literary Heroes

SJ Higbee and I have been writing partners for over six years now. This is where she gets some of her inspiration. You’d have to ask real nicely to get mine.

Brainfluff

In the interests of gender equality, I felt that I should write an article featuring my top ten literary heroes, after publishing the blog ‘My Top Ten Literary Heroines’ here. In no particular order, here they are…

1. Rincewind from the Discworld series by Terry Pratchettthelightfantastic
The timid wizard who finds himself in the middle of adventures despite himself. I love his aversion to any form of risk – a confirmed coward myself, I’ve always found the lantern-jawed sort of hero rather offputting. I also hugely envy Rincewind his Luggage, a chest made of sapient pearwood that will swallow any amount of clothing – along with particularly aggressive characters Rincewood regularly encounters on his travels.

thegobetween2. Leo Colston from The Go-Between by L.P. Hartley
I first read this book as a teenager, cried at the end – and it somehow wormed its way under my skin and never really…

View original post 817 more words

No Responses to “My Top Ten Literary Heroes”

Leave a Reply

