Michaeldgriffiths's Blog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Wilderness Punk, First Challenge

Something happened yesterday, which became very intense. I was tested. If I had failed, this experiment would be over before it started.

 

I heard something moving over the hills toward me. I’ve clocked hundreds of days of camping, but I had never heard anything like this. I could sense something traveling my way. A wall of water approached my site. This wasn’t a few sprinkles that grew into something more. No, instead this was a visual, moving storm. One moment it was dark, the next I was in torrents of blasting rain.

Storm

My first thought was all my tech, and well everything else. My meager possessions went into my half destroyed tent. I quickly realized that my old tarp was also all but useless in a storm of this power. As I did my best to secure my backpacks and wrapped them in my blankets I become soaked to the bone. I wouldn’t have been wetter if I had jumped into a lake. With a yelp, I remembered my cell and dashed it out of my pocket soggy shirt pocket and into the inner pouch of a back pack.

 

But things weren’t good.

pre-roof

I accepted that I was completely drenched and didn’t let that bother me as I struggled to figure out a way to protect my things. I had found a huge tile earlier, which went on the tent first, but it gave me an idea.

 

Water became six inches deep over the surface of the entire forest. I sloshed through the pools and streams looking for strong long branches. I got these up and built a grind work over my tent. Next I made overlapping shingles out of giant pieces of ponderosa bark. It took a few hours and of course once I was done it stopped raining, but I had gained myself an additional level of protection.

Shacking in

It rained a little that night and I didn’t have any issues inside the tent.

 

Hopefully it will help keep the place as dry and secure as possible, for Wednesday is townie day. I have work, see contacts, get some networking done, a class to attend, and some more work to take care of before I head out for a longer trip to one of my favorite places in Arizona, a place where I will be able to jump into my own private pond paradise.

.

Bone at Lilly

 

Thanks for listening and turn back in to see how things go with campsite 2.

 

Grab some of my Skin-Punk fiction here

 

wet

No Responses to “Wilderness Punk, First Challenge”

Leave a Reply

