Michaeldgriffiths's Blog
One's man Chaos is another person's Entertainment

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger is one of the most famous and popular American books ever written. Salinger and his estate were averse to the motion picture industry and forbade it from being adapted into a film. On a more personal note, I had never read this book before. I made it through high school and college without much real mention of it. I guess that is what happens when you pick out your courses late and the only thing left is Russian Lit. In my more recent attempt to add American classics to my reading diet, here goes my go at this novel.

Genre:  American Classic Literature   

Publisher: Little, Brown and Company

Released:  1945

Stars:  5 Stars

Reviewer: Michael D. Griffiths

I liked it, I really did. Holden slipped in there for a moment, forgive me. This book takes place in the forties and focuses on Holden Caulfield a teenager who was just kicked out of boarding school. He lingers there, not really saying goodbye, but more trying to talk himself into being glad he’s leaving because everyone there were fake people who led rude lives. Then he heads to Manhattan.

Soon he finds himself seeking answers to why he should be more excited about doing well so he can become an adult instead of wondering what happens to the ducks in Central Park when the water freezes over. Holden in many ways is a child looking in on the world of adults he does not feel a part of. He tries to ask questions and raise what he thinks are important points with people, but most of them become annoyed because he is not focused on more acceptable methods of communication. Holden often sabotages potentially good situations as if he knows they would suck him into a more lawful and expected lifestyle. If each interaction is another brick in the wall of a foundation to become an adult, Holden does his best to make sure he is not collecting any bricks.

Writing in the style of an excited teen is done well and most people agree Salinger is a writing genius. I knew a man who received his master’s degree on the analysis of this novel. I did not rush through this. I tried to take my time. I am not sure about others, but it felt dense to me. Not the type of book you would read on the beach or while flying in a plane. This book required a strong level of concentration and contemplation.

Perhaps the most famous and one of the most well written books on the transformation of a reluctant boy into a man which was ever written. A great American classic. Read it if you can.

Learn More Here

.

.

Grab my Cyberpunk novel here. Dak has been hired to chase down the Skinjumper clones, he biggest problem, he’s dating one..

3 Responses to “The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger”

  1. I loved this book in my formative years, particularly, as you’ve observed, the penchant for self sabotage that Holden exhibited. It really spoke to where I was at that time.


Leave a comment